Personal Territory: Exploration #47

BLOBS: Exploration #47 says to “make tracings of stain or splotches you find.”  In relation to my personal territory I decided to use the rust marks on the hand rails for blobs or splotches.  I documented these blobs photographically and then spent some time drawing my favorite ones.  The book says I experimented with color and then cut them out to make a collage.  Upon creating my collage I decided that there was a scene taking place in the shapes.  To me the shapes look like monsters.  I took the blobs and repositioned them on a clean page and then set about narrating my story.

In my story there is a giant orange fish about to consume an innocent sea horse.  Observing this horror is a bewildered young fisher man, a screeching yellow bird, and a lazy green sea creature.  I added a bit of color to bring the scene to life.

Over all i was pretty satisfied with my drawing.  It follows the cartoonish style I adopted over the summer using pen and water color.  The color helps add to the whimsical yet intense feeling of the scene.

blob_1

Leave a comment